When You Can’t Do Everything

I’ve been mixing away Christmas candles for an upcoming Christmas Open House an a local antique mall where we’ve been renting a booth. I wanted to have a ice snow theme with the pale blues, silver and creams but the theme isn’t really working in the scope of what I’m creating to place on the booth. So, of course, I’m changing the theme altogether. Needless to say, this is taking a lot more work than I originally anticipated. Instead of blues and creams I’m looking at reds, whites, and greens, you know, the traditional Christmas colors. Man I wanted to do something different!

Rather than beat myself up, I figure I’ll just keep pressing on with this traditional thing and grab some baskets to make this thing as Christmasy as I can. So now tonight my 15 year old is making dinner (a baked fish dinner might I add) and I’m going to be engrossed in candle making to get these wonderful shelves stocked for the open house.

Meanwhile, I had to decline a different event happening tomorrow at an almost local elementary school. I hated to do it and I really tried to squeeze it in but it was just too difficult to do both. Alongside the matter of having already paid for the booth and needing to get my money’s worth this month, I sadly declined the elementary school. Sometimes it’s hard to face that fact that I can’t do everything.

On a brighter note, I was able to donate quite a few items to the school that I shipped off this morning. I packaged up a cherry pie candle, a pumpkin pie candle, cinnamon stick wax tarts, an apple pie candle, a buttered rum jar candle, and a couple of other freshly made items and placed them in a medium sized priority box. I was relieved to see them picked up by the postal carrier. I feel a little better now. I think a donation beats not being there, doesn’t it?

Well, that’s my day! Please, if you have a moment, please sign up for the giveaway we’re doing over on our Facebook page. It’s filled with Everything Dawn Christmas candles: cupcake candles, ornaments, and the other good smells!

Leave a Reply

